How To Make Fake Blood

In this post, I will explain how I made fake blood that I used in my previous post (https://memorieslikefilm.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/csi-drama-part-3/) to simulate a murder scene.

All of the ingredients that I used, can be found in almost any kitchen. I don’t have exact measurements of whatever I used, because I used trial and error to get the best result. I made a total of 3 batches before I finally got it right.

Here are the ingredients that I used:

– Corn Flour

– Red & Blue Food Colouring

– Water

– Bicarbonate Of Soda

Like I said, I used trial and error, so these are the steps that I followed:

1. Pour water into a bowl, add the corn flour and stir until it looks like milk. Take note, it must still be watery and very runny.

2. Take the mixed bowl of water and corn flour and put it in the microwave. As you warm up the concoction in the microwave, be sure to stir it now and then, otherwise you’ll be left with clots in your fake blood. You will notice that the mixture will slowly become thicker.

3. Once you have the desired consistency, add a very small amount of red food colouring (rather start adding too little than too much). If you find that the mixture is too thick, then you can still add water to make it thinner and more runny again. Stir the mixture until the red food colouring has completely set in.

If the colour of the fake blood is too neon red or pinkish, this will be the right time to add some blue food colouring. I’m going to type this in capital letters: ADD A VERY, VERY SMALL AMOUNT OF BLUE FOOD COLOURING. I messed up 2 batches of fake blood, because the blue food colouring was too overpowering. We certainly don’t want purple blood now, do we? Again, rather add a tiny bit, then work your way from there.

4. Depending on the amounts you used, if the blood doesn’t look like the right texture, add a small amount of bicarbonate of soda. Once again, start with a small amount and gradually add more.

5. Use the fake blood to good effect.

It is guaranteed that you may not get this right the first time. Like I said, I had to go through 3 batches to get the desired result. If you’re looking for a cheap, easy way to make fairly realistic-looking blood, this is probably it.

 

 

Leave a comment