Soul Searchin’

I used to write poems quite often when I was younger, but as the years went by, my inspiration started to run dry. When I moved to Cape Town earlier this year, it seemed as if some inspiration was slowly coming back to me again. I wrote this poem when I thought about how the city life can change a young man’s outlook on life. Especially if he came from a small town like I did…

 

OH DEAR CITY

 

Come on oh dear city

Change me for I know no better

Dare to change my beliefs

Show  me what I have up my sleeves

 

Show me your index of streets

Teach me the people’s creeds

Your fumes a shock to my lungs

Lingo on the tip of their tongues

 

Don’t shy test my moral strength

To prove there’s no limited length

I no longer long for the country side

For the child inside of me has died

Leave a Reply

